Chicken Alfredo Pasta Recipe

I’ve always been a fan of cheese, cream and pasta. I prefer the noodles not too soft, nor too hard. I want it to be just the right texture and consistency. Although I do have a penchant for cheesy and creamy sauce. I usually go for melted parmesan or cheddar cheese to go with the thick cooking cream, but in this recipe I had to stick with cream cheese. Anyway without much ado, here’s what you’ll need!

This actually serves 4-8 people, depending on their appetites.

  • 500g Fettuccini Pasta ( I bought 1kg and only cooked a serving whenever I’m feeling peckish on the rice cooker because what is proper cooking method in a place where you don’t have enough cooking utensils)
  • 125g cream cheese (legit half of the 250g Australian Cream Cheese that I bought)
  • 150g thick cream
  • 8 broccoli florets (I can only guess the amount for this since its a leftover from the beef broccoli my sister made but add as much as you want!)
  • 5 large cloves of garlic, minced.
  • a cup of sliced cremini mushrooms ( I sliced 11 small whole mushrooms and i think it was enough? but really, it’s up to you)
  •  3 large chicken breasts, deboned & chopped into bite sizes
  • Chicken stock or 100ml hot water and chicken bouillon
  • 2 tbsp of butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil (or vegetable oil, your pick)
  • Italian seasoning (In my case, Herbs de Provence did the trick)
  • salt and pepper to taste

There are actually various ways to cook the sauce. You can either sauté the garlic, mushroom, and chicken then add the cream cheese and thick cream or you can cook them separately. What I did was throw them into the saucepan one by one because I don’t really have enough containers to put them aside for later so they had to go in. It would probably be better if you cooked them separately for a more flavourful dish.

Anyway, first you have to add the oil your pan. Make sure it’s medium high heat. Then, add the butter and swirl it a few times. Once it’s starting to brown, add the mushrooms and later on, the garlic. Once the garlic starts to brown–not golden brown, mind you, because prolonged exposure to heat would burn it– add the chicken.

Toss it carefully and make sure the chicken’s already half cooked or at least turning a pretty white colour and the garlic are not burnt, add in the cream cheese. Melt it in the saucepan and once it’s already part of the mixture, you can throw in the thick cream, chicken stock and broccoli then mix them together. Let it simmer in low heat until the broccolis are cooked but not too soft! Then you can sprinkle it with the herbs, salt and pepper.

While you’re letting that simmer, you can start cooking the pasta according to package direction. For Chicken Alfredo, we usually use fettuccini pasta instead of spaghetti or linguini.

I added little herbs, though, because my sister doesn’t like dried herbs in her food. I just sprinkled some on top once I served them because I like mine with more herbs and it adds to a nice presentation.

I know I probably have different style of cooking this but this is the one that suits my taste, time and the capacity of my kitchen tools, but if you have more of the time and equipment, feel free to spice things up!

Leave a Reply

